Cuaba Salomon

Well, what can I say? This is by far the biggest cigar I smoked so far. It is huge, 187 mm long and a ring size of 57, it has a strange shape and it looks just impressive, though, a real men’s cigar with the raw wrapper with veins, the shape and the nice colorful band.

When I smell the cigar I can smell some hay. Trying to cut the cigar is always a hassle with figurados due to the torpedo shape. Cutting a normal shaped cigar is easy, I just put my cutter flat on the table, stick the cigar in and cut, but that won’t work with a figurado. Cut too little and you get a hard draw and a nicotine rush, cut too big and it feels like you are blowing a hose. I made a perfect cut so the pre-draw was fine, not heavy but not light either. The draw became heavier though the more the cigar was smoked.

After lighting the cigar I tasted light leather with a bit of sweetness. After about one and a half centimeter the leather becomes stronger but never loses its smoothness. Halfway there is a bit cacao and a mild taste of tobacco on the background and at 2/3rd some nut flavors pass. Somewhere hidden in the cigar is a bit of pepper and right before the turning point I can taste some liquorices sweet. Even though there are several flavors available in the cigar, I expected much more complex city and more evolution in the flavors. It is not as full bodied as I expected.

Due to the strange shape I had lot of burn problems, straight from the start. I had to correct several times. The ash is pretty, silver gray and firm, the smoke is light and thin.

Will I buy this cigar again? I don’t think so

Appearance: 9 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 6/10
Smoke & Ash: 7/10
Aroma first part: 6/10
Aroma second part: 7/10
Aroma third part: 6/10

Categories: Cuaba (Habanos), Cuban cigars, La Corona | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

