Mayorga maduro torpedo

These nice Nicaraguan cigars are made by Nestor Plasencia and he uses Nicaraguan tobacco for the filler and the binder and either a H2000 from Nicaragua or a dark maduro from Costa Rica as a wrapper. Judging by the color and the flavors from the cigar, I think I smoked one with a Costa Rican maduro wrapper. I brought this cigar back from the US but I can’t remember who gave it to me, as all the BOTL’s I met were way to generous and I lost track.
090907mayorgatorpedomaduro1
The 5 x 52 torpedo is a bit box pressed and the top of the torpedo is a bit crooked. The dark wrapper has some slight veins. For a moment I thought this could be a dyed wrapper but I was mistaken, the dark color is for real. I get a light barnyard aroma from the cigar.
090907mayorgatorpedomaduro2
I like the sweetness that I taste combined with the coffee and the chocolate. The flavors grown in strength a bit without becoming strong flavors, they stay nice and mellow. The chocolate flavor is the main flavor, and once I reached the mid of the cigar chocolate is the only flavor I get.
090907mayorgatorpedomaduro3
This cigar is medium bodied, medium flavored. Quite one dimensional but a very pleasant dimension.
090907mayorgatorpedomaduro4
I get more than enough smoke from the cigar, a thick white smoke. The draw is fine and the white ash is quite firm.
090907mayorgatorpedomaduro5
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, I liked it and they are cheap. Nice humidor filler.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 6 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Mayorga, Nicaraguan cigars | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Mayorga maduro torpedo

  1. The Mayorga Churchill maduros currently being sold show every indication of a dyed wrapper. Wiping the wrapper with a damp cloth removes a dark brown pigment the color of brown shoe polish. You’ll need to do this several times before lighting this stick if you don’t want brown lips and teeth. I contacted JR Cigars, the current owner of the brand, for a comment. They have declined to respond. Caveat emptor.

    • haven’t smoked them for years, so I wouldn’t know. Bad customer service by JR for ignoring your comment.

      • Yeah, in this case, remaining silent is almost an admission of guilt. I smoked these in the late ’90s and early ’00s and they were quite good. The latest iteration of this cigar — and apparently JR Cigar owns the brand now — isn’t bad, once you remove all the dye from the head. It’s a little comical to see the actual maduro wrapper (unevenly colored and mottled but not, to my eyes, terribly unattractive) next to the painted part. It’s like a car in a body shop that’s half paint and half primer. I had one yesterday. Strong coffee and bitter cocoa, good draw, raggedy dark-gray and black ash, firm shape at first but becoming spongy, very strong, dizzying finish.

        It’s my understanding that most inexpensive maduros are considered by their manufacturers to be unappealing with their flawed, natural coloring, prompting them to finish them with, in the case of Mayorgas and others, a very heavy-handed paint job. To their thinking, cigar aficionados will be offended by a more natural maduro wrapper. Then again, if they are starting with cheap wrapper and they’re in a hurry, this shortcut makes for a nice photo and a potential sale. This approach is, in my view, short-sighted. I’d rather have a good-tasting cigar, with a few purely cosmetic issues, than a pretty stick that requires washing before smoking.

  2. you and me both brother, you and me both.

    If you are looking for a budget maduro smoke, give the Flor de Oliva maduro a try. These budget smokes are very good, and they are real maduro.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

