Bolivar Petit Belicoso LE 2009

I was really looking forward to this year’s LE as I am a big fan of the Cuban brand Bolivar and this year one of the 3 LE’s would be a 4.9 x 52 Bolivar petit belicoso. The first ever Bolivar LE.
091116bolivarpetitbelicosole20091
The petit belicoso has a nice sharp looking point with a nice light brown colored wrapper. The cigar feels hard, but isn’t over packed as the predraw is a bit loose. The predraw leaves a wood and raisin flavor in my mouth. The aroma of the cigar is hard to detect and smells a bit like cow poop.

 

Yuck, I taste a bitter, pungent and unpleasant coffee flavor. After a centimeter the worst harshness has gone, but I still get a harsh flavor in the back of my throat. After an inch some wood shines through the bitter harshness, but unfortunately some ash flavor joins the party too.
091116bolivarpetitbelicosole20092
After reaching the middle of the cigar I lost the wood and ash and I can even taste some nuts beneath the harshness. At the 2/3rd point the harshness gets less but the cigar still isn’t pleasant to smoke

 

The as is almost white and very dense. The ash broke halfway and I got some crooked burn after that, which I didn’t have to correct though. Before the breaking of the ash the burn was straight. The draw was fine. I get a lot of thick white smoke. This cigar is obviously way too young to be smoked.
091116bolivarpetitbelicosole20093
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, and rest them for at least 5 years before I smoke another one. Hopefully they are great by then and otherwise I will give them away.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 4 / 10
Aroma second part: 5 / 10
Aroma third part: 5 / 10

Categories: Bolivar (Habanos), Cuban cigars, Partagas Factory | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

