Partagas Serie D #4 *revisited*

This Partagas Serie D #4 comes from a Robusto sampler I bought a few years ago, so I don’t know the box code, all I know is that this 4.8 inch long ring 50 cigar is at least a 2007 and possibly even older.

 

The wrapper is quite light colored, a bit pale even, but tough and rough looking with the veins. The aroma is quite light and smells like a barnyard. The construction feels good. I punched the cigar and the predraw is just fine, I can taste a little bit of wood.
070606psd41
I get a typical Cuban leather flavor with some cedar, medium full. The leather is definitely the main flavor and the flavors are a bit sticky. Halfway the leather grows a bit in strength without becoming really strong. Right after the mid part I can taste something fresh, mint like flavor trough the leather with some chocolate as an aftertaste.

 

After 2/3rd the flavors get a bit stronger, now it’s finally the powerhouse that everybody claims it is. The texture is mild creamy and I can also taste a little bit of pepper. Near the end the cedar wood returns in combination with the pepper and the never fading leather.
070606psd43
The smoke is thin and the amount of smoke is a bit poor too, even though the amount of smoke grows a bit after a third, but it remained below the levels that I love to see while smoking. The ash is quite dark and both the burn and draw are fine. Near the end the burn got a bit crooked. This cigar is full flavored but not as full bodied as I expected. I purged the cigar near the end but got no flame at all, the cigar was very clean.
070606psd45
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes. I was never impressed by the Partagas Serie D #4 but I have to change my opinion, this stick was awesome.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 5 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Partagas (Habanos), Partagas Factory | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

