H. Upmann Corona Major

This particular cigar was one of my first loves and actually my first box I bought when I knew what I was doing. I started to smoke on a vacation in Indonesia late 2005, and on the way back at Singapore airport I bought a box of Montecristo #4 and some singles including a H. Upmann Corona Major. I don’t count the Montecristo as a box purchase, because I didn’t knew what I was buying, I just wanted cigars. Once I smoked this H.Upmann Corona Major I knew I wanted a box of those, so I got me a box online with a boxdate of november 2006. I reviewed one before, but 3 years later I decided to revisit the cigar, my last from the box, to see if my tastes have changed.
070825hupmanncoronamajor1
Once I open the tubo, an old one, soon after I bought the box Habanos restyled the tubos, I see a nice 5¼ x 42 corona with a chocolate brown silky wrapper with just one vein. The construction feels good and the cigar has a nice mild barnyard aroma. After punching I get a good predraw that tastes dry and has a raisin flavor with a peppery aftertaste.
070825hupmanncoronamajor2
I can taste leather with just a hint of chocolate, full flavored. The chocolate soon turns into a sugar like sweetness and that sweetness becomes the main flavor. The leather is just a support flavor and after one and a half inch some earth joins the leather to support the sweetness.
070825hupmanncoronamajor3
The sweetness becomes less strong and the leather is a bit stronger than the earth flavor. After ⅔ I also taste a herbal flavor, mild spicy. At the end the herbal flavors are mild fresh too.
070825hupmanncoronamajor4
This cigar lasted me almost 90 minutes and in those 90 minutes I enjoyed a good amount of reasonable thick smoke. The draw is fine and I can’t complain about the burn either. The as has a pepper and salt color scheme and is quite firm. I would say that this cigar is full flavored but yet medium bodied. If the sweetness was a little less overpowering, I would have rated this cigar a bit higher.
070825hupmanncoronamajor5
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, they are very nice priced and it is a good quality stick.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, H. Upmann (Habanos), H. Upmann Factory | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

