Arturo Fuente Sun Grown Rosado magnum R52

I was never really into Fuente cigars but I smoked a few very nice Fuente’s recently including the Queen B and that combined with my love for rosado wrappers made me very curious about the latest Fuente release, the Arturo Fuente Sungrown Rosado series. I smoked the magnum R52 today, a 5×52 robusto. They are available on the Dutch market for € 8.50.
100706arturofuenterosado521
This slightly box pressed cigar has a cellophane wrapper which prevents damage during transport. The reddish Ecuadorian sungrown Sumatra rosado wrapper is mild oily and has lots of small veins. It looks great. The construction feels good and the cigar has a mild barnyard aroma. I punched the cigar and got a great draw which released a mild raisin flavor.
100706arturofuenterosado522
I taste a nice mixture of earthy flavors combined with cedar and every now and then some sweetness. After an inch I also taste a hint of chocolate an some nuts with the wood and earthy flavors.
100706arturofuenterosado523
The nut flavor gains some strength after an inch and a half. Halfway I also taste a herbal spice. The mild chocolate flavor has disappeared by then. The nut flavor becomes dominant with a nice background of earth and a herbal spiciness.
100706arturofuenterosado524
This cigar lasted me 70 minutes from start to nub. I got a decent amount of white smoke. At the beginning the cigar burned a bit crooked but it corrected itself. The ash is firm and light colored. I would call this cigar full flavored and medium bodied.
100706arturofuenterosado525
Would I buy this cigar again? Absolutely!

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Arturo Fuente, Dominican cigars, Tabacalera A. Fuente y Cia | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

