Cohiba Esplendido

These 7×47 Cohiba Esplendidos are probably the best known cigars worldwide and they have an incredible reputation. I got this cigar from 2006 a few weeks ago from a friend who just purchased a box and thought I should review it. Now I have to say that this specific cigar had a bit of mold on it, which I wiped away before lighting it and I don’t know if that had any effect on the flavors.
100809cohibaesplendido1
The cigar has the color of milk chocolate and the oily wrapper is bumpy and has quite some veins. The construction feels good and so is the predraw. The flavor of the predraw is dry tobacco and the cigar doesn’t have a strong smell.
100809cohibaesplendido2
I taste a spicy peppery leather flavor. I get more spices than expected. The spicy and peppery flavor fades away and instead I taste a mild chocolate flavor. After half an inch I taste an earth flavor instead of the leather with again that mild chocolate. The earth flavor slowly gets stronger.
100809cohibaesplendido3
Halfway I get some more sweet chocolate and a leather flavor joins the earth flavor. This is exactly what you’de expect from a Cuban classic. The leather disappears after two thirds and it’s earth and chocolate again. A few puffs later I taste the leather again and all flavors get stronger and a little bit spicy.
100809cohibaesplendido4
The smoke time of this cigar is about one hour and thirty five minutes. The draw is good and I get enough smoke, not thick or thin. The ash is dark and medium firm. This cigar is medium to full flavored and medium bodied. The burn is good too.
100809cohibaesplendido5
Would I buy this cigar again? No. I mean, it is a great cigar but not worth the Dutch prices.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 9 / 10

Categories: Cohiba (Habanos), Cuban cigars, El Laguito | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

