Partagas 8-9-8 varnished cabinet

This cigar was a gift I got at a herf at my place from a friend. I don’t know the box code, so I can’t tell if this is an aged cigar or not. I think it has some age, as the tax band mentioned a price lower than the current (government fixed) price, but no more than 7 years as the tax band mentions a euro price and the older bands mention the price in euro and guilders or guilders only.
100813partagas8981
This 6.6 x 43 Dalias has a nice oily wrapper with a few veins but the cigar itself has some spots, like it has acne. There is also a distinct waterspot on the wrapper. The construction feels a bit soft and the aroma of the cigar is a quite strong barnyard aroma.
100813partagas8982
I can taste some earthy tones, spicy and quite full. I taste some leather too, it is all classical Cuban. The flavors are complementary and well balanced. The texture is quite creamy.
100813partagas8983
After two inch I also taste some citrus like sourness, just a little hint of it though, and some toast. The leather has left the building. Halfway some nuts join the party but they disappear just as sudden as they appeared. The flavors is a mix of earth flavors with some toast, but mostly earthy notes.
100813partagas8984
After ⅔ I can taste a mild chocolate flavor on the background of the earthy with toast flavor.

The cigar produces a nice amount of smoke with a nice thickness. The draw is a bit on the loose side, but not so much that it bothered me. I had to correct the burn in the beginning, but after that it burned good. The ash is pretty dark, frayed and not very firm. I would rate this as a medium bodied, medium flavored cigar.
100813partagas8985
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, a single every now and then or maybe a box at one of the online retailers.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 6 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 6 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Partagas (Habanos), Partagas Factory | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

