Ramon Allones Grandes RE Spain 2008

Now some of you know that I would like to try all different Cuban regional editions and I have collected quite a few of them. An American friend, who studied in Madrid for a semester, used his spring break to travel Europe and I offered him and his friends a place to stay in Amsterdam for the few days that they were in town. As a thank you Ben brought me one of each Spanish regional edition, the 2007 Vegas Robaina Maestros, the 2008 Ramon Allones Grandes and the 2009 Punch Gran Robusto. I decided to light the Ramon Allones Grandes, there is something about the Ramon Allones brand that I like better than the other two brands.
100815ramonallonesgrandes1
This chocolate brown cigar measures 7.1 inch with a 49 ring and looks quite impressive with that length. The mild oily wrapper is a bit messy and has lots of veins, but the finish is flawless. This stogie has a recognizable Cuban barnyard smell and the construction feels good. The predraw is fine and I taste dry flavors of nuts and wood.
100815ramonallonesgrandes2
I taste a full leather flavor with some earth. I have said it before and I am going to say it again: these flavors are classic Cuban and these specific flavors you can’t fine in cigars from other countries. Leather and earth from other countries does taste different. I am not saying that Cubans are better than non Cubans or the other way around, I love both Cubans and Non Cubans. I am just saying that you can taste the difference. The aftertaste is a bit nutty. After an inch I also taste some chocolate on the background and the chocolate flavor is a bit creamy and sticky.
100815ramonallonesgrandes3
After ⅓ the nuts are getting a bit stronger and the flavor comes close to the strength of the leather and earth. The aftertaste is a mild chocolate. The nut flavor tastes a bit like hazelnuts. All flavors gain a bit strength and the nut flavor becomes the dominant one. The background is now leather, earth and chocolate. The chocolate gains power after ⅔ while the nuts and leather disappear. The nub also reveals some herbs and is quite spicy.
100815ramonallonesgrandes4
The smoke time of this Pacos is exactly two hours. This cigar gave me a good amount of thick smoke, a good draw, a good burn and some light colored firm ash. This cigar is full flavored yet medium bodied. The cigar burns clean, I did not get a flame when I purged.
100815ramonallonesgrandes5
Would I buy this cigar again? I suddenly have the urge to visit some old colleagues from the Barcelona office ;)

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Partagas Factory, Ramon Alones (Habanos) | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

