Punch Royal Selection 11

This cigar was gifted to me by a Dutch friend on a herf at my place, so I don’t know the exact box code, all I know is that the cigar is a few years old and that Habanos is discontinuing them, so if you like these my advice is to stock up.
100826punchrs111
The silky wrapper is nice and smooth but pale brown. I notice a few water spots and veins on the wrapper. The cigar has the classic Cuban barnyard smell. The construction feels good although the predraw is on the hard side. I taste dry tobacco.
100826punchrs112
I taste that recognizable Cuban leather flavor with some sweetness. The sugar like sweetness slowly gains some strength. Halfway I also taste an Earth flavor and the sweetness gets a little weaker. This cigar is typical Cuban.
100826punchrs113
The sweetness disappears all together and the classic Cuban mixture of earth and leather flavors grows in strength. I also taste some toast, which slowly becomes stronger. Near the end I also taste something fresh, a herbal freshness and some mild spice.
100826punchrs114
This 5½x46 cigar lasted me for an hour and twenty minutes and I got plenty of smoke, even though it was thin. The draw is good and I can’t complain about the burn either. The ash is medium dark gray and not very firm. I would say that this cigar is medium to full flavored and medium bodied. When I purged it, I only got a small flame.
100826punchrs115
Would I buy this cigar again? Depends, if I see a good deal, I might get a box. If I don’t see a good deal, well, then I won’t get a box.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 6 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, La Corona, Punch (Habanos) | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

