Bolivar Libertadores RE France

A friend gave me this Bolivar Libertadores, the 2006 French Regional Edition, a 6½ x 54 monster. He knows I want to smoke all Regional Editions and that I am a self proclaimed Bolivar whore and he did me a huge favor by giving me this cigar. Now collecting cigars is one thing, smoking them is another and as all cigars are mend to be smoked I decided to light my one and only Libtertadores.
100925bolivarlibertadores1
The looks of this cigar aren’t up to Bolivar standards, the wrapper has a dirty brown color and the wrapper lacks oil and has a lot of veins. The cigar also lacks smell. The construction feels good and after punching the cigar I get a good predraw with a wood flavor.
100925bolivarlibertadores3
I taste a nice full flavor of freshly toasted coffee beans. After a quarter of an inch I can also taste a citrus like sourness. The citrus disappears after an inch, the coffee is slightly sweet but the cigar becomes flat and less full flavored.
100925bolivarlibertadores4
The coffee turns to wood, but not a very nice wood flavor. After ⅔ the flavor turns a bit musty. A few puffs later I taste a very dry chocolate flavor, it is so dry that cocoa powder is a better description. I purge the cigar and get a salty flavor with the wood and cocoa powder.

This 6½ inch cigar lasted me for about 90 minutes. The draw is good but the amount of smoke is poor. The burn is good and the firm ash is light colored, almost white. I got a huge flame while purging this medium flavored, full bodied cigar.
100925bolivarlibertadores5
Would I buy this cigar again? No. I am a Bolivar fan but this Boli is disappointing

Appearance: 6 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 6 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 6 / 10
Aroma third part: 6 / 10

Categories: Bolivar (Habanos), Cuban cigars, Partagas Factory | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

