H. Upmann Magnum 50

The H. Upmann magnum 50 is originally the 2005 Limited Edition but became so in demand that Habanos decided to put it into regular production and I don’t blame them. Although this stick isn’t cheap in The Netherlands with a price tag of € 12.40, this is the stick that I always pick when I walk in my favorite cigarshop in Amsterdam, Hartman Cigars at the Beethovenstraat.
101104hupmannmag501
The H. Upmann magnum 50 is a 6¼x50 stick with a Cuban barnyard aroma and a pale brown wrapper with a few veins and some waterspots. The construction feels a bit soft, but the predraw after punching the cigar is fine. The predraw leaves a mild peppery flavor on my palate. I like the fact that the extra band actually fits with the normal H.Upmann band, it’s nothing like the crap color scheme from the Montecristo Open series.
101104hupmannmag502
I can taste some earthy flavors and lots of leather, classic Cuban flavors in my book. The flavors are medium full of strength. The leather is the dominant flavor but it’s all well balanced. After almost 2 inch I get a little bit of chocolate on the background.
101104hupmannmag503
Halfway I also taste wood, the leather becomes the aftertaste and the flavors are held together by the earth flavors that create a nice base for the wood and leather. The chocolate is gone. Right at the end I van taste some walnut on the background. The feeling in my mouth is quite dry.
101104hupmannmag504
This cigar only lasted me 80 minutes, which isn’t that long considering the size. The draw is good and so is the burn, although that was crooked in the beginning, but it corrected itself. The ash is quite firm and has a pepper and salt color. I would rate this cigar medium to full in both body and flavor. The smoke is quite thick and there is plenty of it.
101104hupmannmag505
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, as I said at the start of the review, this is my go to stick at the local B&M.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, H. Upmann (Habanos), H. Upmann Factory | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

