Cohiba Maduro 5 Genios

A few years back Habanos SA finally decided to release a Cuban maduro, the Cohiba Maduro 5 series, three different vitola’s with a 5 year aged maduro wrapper. The three vitolas are the secretos (4⅓ x 40), magicos (4½ x 52) and the genios (5½ x 52). I got a few of the genios in a trade, I can’t remember the exact box code, but I know they are from 2008.
101116cohibamaduro5genios1
The cigar doesn’t look that good, the dark wrapper has some light spots on it, lot of veins and it just looks messy. The cigar is slightly box pressed. There isn’t a lot of aroma, I only smell a mild barnyard aroma. The construction feels good, the predraw is good too and releases a dry straw flavor with some pepper.
101116cohibamaduro5genios2
I can taste some earth flavors and a lot of leather with some sweetness, which has a hint of chocolate and some sugar. The earth flavors gain some strength and become just as powerful as the leather.
101116cohibamaduro5genios3
The sweetness gets a bit stronger after about an inch. An inch later the leather grows in strength too with herbs, earth and the sweet chocolate as background flavors. After ⅔ the herbal flavors disappear again so I taste leather and earth. The sweetness is now pure sugar, the chocolate has gone.
101116cohibamaduro5genios4
The smoke time of this cigar is 85 minutes. I got quite some reasonable thick smoke and a good draw and burn. The dark ashes are quite firm. I got a nice flame while purging this full flavored and full bodied cigar.
101116cohibamaduro5genios5
Would I buy this cigar again? Maybe when I am in a cigar lounge and want to light something I don’t smoke often. Cohiba is too expensive in my opinion, so I don’t smoke them often.

Appearance: 6 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cohiba (Habanos), Cuban cigars, El Laguito | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

