H. Upmann Connaisseur #1

3 years ago I bought a nice sampler with several Cuban robustos. The sampler ended up under a pile of other cigars I bought afterwards and when I rediscovered this sampler I decided to try the 5×48 robusto from my favorite marca, H.Upmann. This cigar isn’t called ‘robusto’ but connoisseur No.1 and the ring is 48 instead of the classic 50. I bought this sampler early 2007, so I guess that the cigar is from 2006.
101207hupmannconnossieur1
The cigar has a beautiful but veiny and oily wrapper and a mild barnyard smell. The construction feels good and the predraw confirms the good construction. I taste a dry tobacco flavor.
101207hupmannconnossieur2
I get a full coffee flavor which morphs into a mild spicy and full earth flavor.
101207hupmannconnossieur3
After an inch I also taste leather. The flavors are well balanced and complex. The cigar has the typical H. Upmann flavors including a hint of chocolate and nuts. Halfway the cigar gets a little spicy.
101207hupmannconnossieur4
This robusto lasted me for an hour. I got a lot of thick white smoke. The ash is firm and dark. The draw is good but I had to correct the burn a few times. This cigar is medium flavored and medium bodied.
101207hupmannconnossieur5
Would I buy this cigar again? I think I rather smoke the Magnum 46 than this cigar

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 6 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, H. Upmann (Habanos), H. Upmann Factory | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

