Macanudo BMM F3

You might think “what, a Macanudo Benji Menendez Master?” but remember, I am from Europe and so the copyrights to the name Partagas are owned by Habanos. Distributer Scandinavian Tobacco Group still wanted to release these cigars in Europe and decided to rename them Macanudo Benji Menendez master series. Normally I would not buy a Macanudo, but I have met Benji Menendez before and had a nice conversation about tobacco with him, the man is a living legend with incredible knowledge so I was really curious to smoke this 6×46 cigar. The cigar is blended with Nicaraguan and Dominican tobacco, an American Habano binder and Cameroon wrapper.
110105macanudobenjimenendez1
I smell a strong Cuban barnyard smell. The band is big and mentions Benji Menendez. The wrapper is chocolate brown and wrinkly with a big vein. The construction feels good but I notice a soft spot under the cigar band. The predraw is fine.
110105macanudobenjimenendez2
I taste coffee, earth and a hint of cinnamon. The cigar is slightly bitter and dry. The flavors get less intense after half an inch. After an inch I taste wood, an earthy flavor and citrus.
110105macanudobenjimenendez3
After a third I taste more spices like cinnamon and nutmeg with some pepper in the aftertaste. Wood is still a supporting flavor. Halfway the wood gets a bit stronger but the earthy flavor disappeared. The pepper in the aftertaste is white pepper. After two thirds the cigar gets more spicy.
110105macanudobenjimenendez4
This cigar lasted me for an hour and a half. The draw is great and I got a lot of smoke. The light colored ash is quite firm and the burn is straight and pretty. This cigar is full flavored and medium bodied.
110105macanudobenjimenendez5
Would I buy this cigar again? No, I wouldn’t for 9 euro

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Dominican cigars, General Cigar Dominicana S.A.S., Macanudo | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

