Hoyo de Monterrey petit robusto *revisited*

3 years ago I reviewed this 4×50 Hoyo de Monterrey petit robusto but forgot to take pictures. This is my first Hoyo de Monterrey petit robusto since, I bought it to update my old review with pictures and decided to review the new cigar too.
071106hoyodemonterreypetitrobusto1
The wrapper is silky, somewhat dark and it has quite some veins. The cigar smells of leather and barnyard. The construction feels good and the predraw is fine. I can hardly taste anything in the predraw. The cigar has a € 8.40 price tag in The Netherlands
071106hoyodemonterreypetitrobusto2
I taste peppery leather and coffee, quite full and strong and after half an inch the pepper disappears and the leather becomes mild sweet. Soon after the cigar flavors change to an earthy flavor with some leather and quite some herbs on the background with some pepper.
071106hoyodemonterreypetitrobusto4
Halfway the leather disappears, I taste an earthy flavor with herbs. After two thirds the sweetness returns with the herbs and some leather. The earthy flavor has gone. Near the end I even taste a licorice like flavor.

 

It took me an hour to finish this short stogie. I got a lot of smoke which was reasonably thick. The silver-gray ash is firm. The draw is great but I had to correct the burn a few times. This cigar is full flavored and medium bodied.
071106hoyodemonterreypetitrobusto5
Would I buy this cigar again? I might, I am not as impressed as I was 3 years ago

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 6 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Hoyo de Monterrey (Habanos), La Corona | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

