H. Upmann julieta #2

I’ve been smoking Cubans from the first day I started to smoke, but then again, for a European it is easier to get Cubans than non Cubans, although that seems to be shifting a bit in The Netherlands now due to the good work of The Longfiller Company who distributes, Fuente, Ashton, Don Pepin Garcia, Liga Privada, Padron and Oliva, to a decent amount of brick & mortars here. I’ve smoked every Cuban brand that is still in production and slowly I discovered that the H. Upmann marca never disappointed me, it became my favorite Cuban marca. This Julieta #2 is a 7×47 cigar, I don’t know the box code of this specific specimen.
110205hupmannjulietta21
The wrapper is chocolate brown, mild oily and brittle. There are some softer spots in the construction, and the predraw is hard. I taste a mild spicy tobacco and I smell a mild barnyard aroma.
110205hupmannjulietta22
I taste a complex but smooth leather flavor and after an inch and a half I get some sweetness and wood too, still smooth and complex. The draw is horrible, so after a third I decide to use my draw tool and draw a smoke channel, which transforms the cigar a lot, all of a sudden I get a lot of smoke and lots of flavor, leather, wood and nuts, all mild sweet and full but balanced.
110205hupmannjulietta23
After two thirds I taste leather and earth, with a mild sweetness and on the background I taste nuts and toast. Some puffs later I taste some pepper too, and then it is time to rest the nub in the ashtray. I wish that the cigar wasn’t so plugged, it would have been much nicer if the flavors and draw were so full from the start.
110205hupmannjulietta24
I smoked on this great cigar for an hour and twenty minutes. In the beginning I got a poor amount of thin smoke, until I used my draw tool, then I got a lot of thick smoked. The draw was hard until I fixed it. The ash is medium gray and firm. This cigar is full flavored and medium bodied.
110205hupmannjulietta25
Would I buy this cigar again? It’s an H.Upmann, so yes, love the marca.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 6 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 6 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, H. Upmann (Habanos), H. Upmann Factory | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

