La Flor Dominicana Double Ligero Chiselito

I used to love the La Flor Dominicana double ligero chisels and chiselitos although I haven’t smoked them recently. I love the unique shape. The La Flor Dominicana website mentions that these double ligero chiselitos are 5×44 and my cigar ring gauge guide confirms it. The binder and filler are Dominican from the La Flor Dominicana farms and the wrapper is a sun grown Ecuadorian. The fun part about this shape of cigars is that you can just squeeze the cigar open, you can cut it or you can punch a small hole on each side of the mouth piece and smoke it that way.
110213laflordominicanadblligerochiselito1
The Ecuadorian sun grown wrapper is beautiful, dark and oily with a silky touch. The construction feels a bit hard and I smell some pepper. The predraw is fine, I taste raisin with lots of black pepper.
110213laflordominicanadblligerochiselito2
I get a lot of black pepper that overpowers any other flavor. If I try real hard I can discover a bit of an earthy flavor on the background. After a quarter of an inch I taste that earthy flavor with some coffee and pepper. The pepper isn’t as strong as before and the flavors are quite strange. After half an inch I taste some wood with that earthy flavor and pepper. The aftertaste is a full and strong black pepper.
110213laflordominicanadblligerochiselito3
After an inch the flavors are a bit ashy. I taste wood, earth and pepper and far on the background even some milk chocolate. The cigar turns flat, boring and not very pleasant. I never had this experience with the La Flor Dominicana double ligero chisel or chiselito before.
110213laflordominicanadblligerochiselito4
This cigar has a smoke time of ninety minutes. I got a lot of thick white smoke, a fantastic draw and great burn. The ash is firm. This cigar is full flavored and full bodied.
110213laflordominicanadblligerochiselito5
Would I buy this cigar again? I will give it another try, I liked the ones I smoked before

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 6 / 10

Categories: Dominican cigars, La Flor Dominicana | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

