Albin Raul Mustelier Custom rolled toro

The day I flew to Florida last october the Cuban master roller Albin Raul Mustelier started his tour through The Netherlands and Belgium, but fortunately some of my friends, who went to see this maestro torcedor in action, thought of me and when I got home I got three different custom rolled Cubans made by Mustelier.
110228custsomrolledcuban1
The oily wrapper has a milky chocolate color and is a bit shiny. You can see it is a custom rolled cigar that hasn’t been pressed long enough as it is slightly curved. The construction feels good though and I smell a classic Cuban barnyard with some wood. The predraw is fine and I taste some raisin with pepper.
110228custsomrolledcuban2
I taste a sweet yet peppery and mild bitter coffee flavor with is quite smooth. After half an inch the flavors change to a mild peppery leather which is creamy and smooth. There is still a little bit of coffee left but without the sweetness and the bitterness.
110228custsomrolledcuban3
After an inch I taste leather with pepper and a hint of chocolate, the flavors are bold yet smooth and creamy., After a third I taste wood with a hint of a mild bitter cocoa. The cigar is less creamy than before. After two thirds the wood gets a bit sweet and I even taste a nut flavor. The creaminess has completely disappeared.
110228custsomrolledcuban4
This cigar almost lasted for two hours, it came five minutes short. The draw is a little bit too loose. I got a lot of medium thick smoke. The frayed ash is silver gray but not firm at all. The cigar is medium to full flavored and medium bodied. I got a big flame while purging.
110228custsomrolledcuban5
Would I buy this cigar again? Next time Albin Raul Mustelier can roll some more smokes for me. I will let the other two rest, they will possibly be getting a lot better with some age.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Custom Rolled (Habanos) | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

