La Reloba seleccion Mexico robusto

A few days ago I posted a review of the La Reloba seleccion Sumatra robusto and today it’s time for the La Reloba seleccion Mexico robusto. This 5×50 robusto is the new, yet unreleased, blend of the La Reloba line, which also exists in a Habano version. The band looks the same, except that it’s in the color of the Mexican flag, green white and red, instead of the black & red (Habano) or black & yellow (Sumatra) bands.
110401larelobamexicorobusto1
The dark and oily San Andres Mexican wrapper has a few very thin veins. I smell a barnyard with wood and some tar. The construction feels good. The predraw is fine and I taste some floral flavors with some pepper on the lips.
110401larelobamexicorobusto2
I taste a spicy earth flavor and after half an inch some sweet herbs and pepper too. A quarter of an inch later I also get a tiny bit of milk chocolate on the background. After an inch I taste wood with herbs and a bit of milk chocolate. After a third I taste toast with a little bit of citrus and herbs.
110401larelobamexicorobusto3
The flavors are getting smoother and milder halfway the cigar, there is a little bit of chocolate in the aftertaste. After two thirds the wrapper cracks open and I taste toast, some herbs and some milk chocolate. The chocolate disappears and I taste toast with some herbs. The last few puffs bring me some black pepper too.
110401larelobamexicorobusto4
This cigar lasted me an hour and forty minutes. The draw was a bit tight, but still good. The smoke is thick. I had to correct the burn over and over again. The ash is coarse and firm. This cigar is full bodied and full flavored but not as sweet as I expected from a Mexican San Andres wrapped cigar.
110401larelobamexicorobusto5
Would I buy this cigar again? No boxes, but a single every now and then, for sure.

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 6 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: La Reloba, My Father Cigars, Nicaraguan cigars | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

