Punch Ninfas

On the boards that I visit, the Punch Ninfas, a 7×33 slim panatela, is one of the most praised and sought after discontinued Cuban cigars. I never thought I would get my hands on one, as they have been discontinued since 2002, years before I started my journey into the world of hand rolled cigars. To tell you the truth, I can’t remember how I got this specific cigar, it was probably one of the many gifts and bombs I got since joining Club Stogie (R.I.P.) and Cigar Asylum. So thank you, whoever gave me this cigar.
110608punchninfas1
The wrapper is quite dark for a Cuban, dull and full of thin veins. The cigar has a mild barnyard smell. The construction feels good but the predraw is a bit hard.
110608punchninfas2
I taste leather with some pepper and after three quarters of an inch the flavors get less strong, but I still taste leather with pepper in the aftertaste. The pepper fades away and now I taste leather and a bit of an earthy flavor.
110608punchninfas3
After a third I also get some nuts with the leather and halfway the flavors are smooth leather only, quite dry though. After two thirds the nuts make a comeback and the cigar gets a mild spicy, peppery aftertaste.
110608punchninfas4
This long thin stick lasts me about eighty minutes. The smoke is thin, and there isn’t much of it at all. The draw is good, but close to too hard. The ash is dark, coarse and not firm. The cigars is medium flavored and mild to medium bodied.
110608punchninfas5
Would I buy this cigar again? That’s close to impossible

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 6 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, La Corona, Punch (Habanos) | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

