Don Fernando custom rolled

At the Habanos day, that Cubacigar Benelux, the official distributer of Cuban cigars in Belgium, The Netherlands and Luxemburg, organised little over a month ago we all got to roll a Cuban cigar as part of a masterclass by Jimmy Sotolongo, a master roller and teacher from Habanos S.A. My attempt was not the best looking cigar, to put it mildly.
110920donfernandocustom1
The 5¾x52 cigar is almost as long as a toro but looks awful. It isn’t straight, it has a lot of veins, spots and the construction has plenty of soft spots. The single cap is terrible, worst I have ever seen. The construction and cap were so bad that I couldn’t even punch the cigar, I had to cut it. The draw is very light and I taste tobacco.
110920donfernandocustom2
I taste wood and an earthy flavour, quite full. After half an inch I mainly taste leather with some earth, the flavours are spicy and full.
110920donfernandocustom3
After a third I taste more earth and wood with some spiciness, the leather has gone. After two thirds the cigar gets very spicy, I taste a lot of herbs and a pinch of pepper.
110920donfernandocustom4
This cigar lasted me for fifty minutes. The draw was very loose. I got a lot of smoke and the pepper & salt coloured ash was firm. This cigar had a beautiful burn and is full flavoured yet medium bodied.
110920donfernandocustom5
Would I buy this cigar again? I will try rolling cigars again

Appearance: 3 / 10
Construction: 6/ 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Custom Rolled (Habanos) | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

