Fake Cohiba robusto

A friend gave me this fake Cohiba robusto that he bought on a farm in Cuba. He knew they were fake but wanted to give them a try anyway and he likes them. He gave me one to see if I liked them too. The first impression isn’t that bad, the band is quite all right and the cigar looks decent.
111107fakecohibarobusto1
Like I said, the cigar looks pretty good for a fake, both in color and shape and even the triple cap looks decent. There are some veins on the medium oily wrapper. The construction feels good and I smell a mild barnyard smell. The predraw is fine but tastes quite bitter.
111107fakecohibarobusto2
I taste a bitter earthy flavor with leather and some sweetness. The bitterness disappears quickly and I taste some sweetness with lots of leather and some citrus and pepper in the aftertaste. After a quarter of an inch I taste wood with leather and the flavors are both spicy and creamy. The aftertaste is peppery. When I puff I also taste some vanilla. After three quarters of an inch I taste wood with an earthy flavor and some citrus. The flavors are a bit raw and rustic, not Cohiba smooth and complex. There is still pepper in the aftertaste.
111107fakecohibarobusto3
After an inch I taste wood with leather and still that peppery aftertaste. After a third the flavors change to a mild bitter wood flavor with some freshness. The aftertaste is still the same. Halfway I taste that subtle vanilla gain with spicy and peppery earth flavors and wood. After two thirds I still taste the vanilla with citrus, wood and earth. The aftertaste remains peppery. I wonder if there is Nicaraguan tobacco used for this cigar.
111107fakecohibarobusto4
This cigar lasted me and hour and a half. The draw was tight, which caused the smoke to start thin but it became thick later. The dark ash is firm and the burn is good. This cigar is full flavored and medium bodied.
111107fakecohibarobusto5
Would I buy this cigar again? No, I wouldn’t. First of all it would be impossible and second of all I didn’t like them that much, they were okay at best.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Custom Rolled (Habanos) | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

