Partagas Serie E no.2

The 5½x54 Partagas series E No.2 is the latest Cuban Partagas release and the thickest regular production Partagas parejo ever. The cigar is a bit thicker and longer than the ever popular Partagas series D no.4 and was introduced at the Habanos festival earlier this year but is now making its way to the shops. I was lucky enough to get one of these cigars before they even hit the Dutch shops. I believe this cigar has a price tag of 11 euro in The Netherlands.
111121partagasserie2no21
The cigar is beautiful, with an almost rosado like red glow to the deep brown and mild oily wrapper. I see a few veins though and the construction if a bit soft. I smell a sour barnyard, too much ammonia which confirms my belief that this cigar hasn’t been aged enough, something I keep saying about Cuban cigars. The predraw is fine, I taste a spicy and peppery tobacco.
111121partagasserie2no22
I taste a spicy and harsh earthy flavor and after half an inch an earthy flavor with pepper. The pepper is in the aftertaste. This cigar is harsh and way too young to be smoked. I also taste some wood. After an inch I taste wood, with some earthy flavors, pepper and herbs. On the background I taste something sweet, but that is really mild.
111121partagasserie2no23
After a third I taste mud with herbs, wood and some pepper. Halfway I taste pepper herbs and wood, the mud flavor has disappeared. After two thirds I taste nuts with wood and pepper. The cigar gets more spicy with herbs, earth and some pepper.
111121partagasserie2no24
This cigar lasted me for an hour and forty minutes. The draw is really good and I got a lot of smoke. The ash is dark. I had to correct the burn two times. This cigar is full flavored and full bodied, it is still way too young to be subtle or complex but it has a lot of potential.
111121partagasserie2no25
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, but I will age them for at least a few years before I would smoke them again.

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 6 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 6 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Partagas (Habanos), Partagas Factory | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

