Cohiba BHK54

I got this Cohiba behike BKH 54, a 5.7 inch ring 54 robusto extra for my 39th birthday as a gift from a friend. I’ve been wanting to smoke a BHK for some time because of all the buzz that was going around about this cigar, which should be top of the premium Cuban cigars.
111123cohibabehike541
First thing I notice is the beautiful cigar band, it is recognizable Cohiba but with an even more luxurious touch to it. The shiny and oily wrapper is reddish brown and the cigar is topped with a pigtail. The wrapper feels silky and only had tiny veins. The construction feels good and I smell a mild wood smell. The predraw is a bit tight and I taste tobacco and raisin.
111123cohibabehike542
I taste a mild and caramel and honey sweet earth flavor with some wood. The earthy flavors are dominant with a mild pepper in the aftertaste. Soon I can also taste some toast and a bit more pepper. After a quarter of an inch I taste herbs, that earthy flavor with some caramel. On the background I taste caramel and a hint of pepper. After half an inch I taste that earthy flavor with herbs and a little bit of honey. The pepper has disappeared from the aftertaste and the cigar gets more subtle. After three quarters of an inch the cigar is subtle, I taste mild sweet herbs and earthy flavors that are spicy on the palate. After an inch there is also a hint of wood
111123cohibabehike543
After a third I taste honey, wood and earthy flavors, very subtle and halfway the flavors have changed to wood with herbs, the sweetness has disappeared and the cigar is a bit more spicy with some white pepper in the aftertaste. The honey returns with some wood and earthy flavors, still very subtle. After two thirds I taste a bittersweet cacao with leather, lots of leather. The sweet honey returns and takes over the cacao flavors, I still taste a lot of leather too. With an inch and a half to go I taste cinnamon with leather and wood.
111123cohibabehike544
This cigar lasted me for two whole hours. The draw is too tight and the smoke is a bit thin. The dark ash is firm. This cigar is full flavored and medium to full bodied and has a beautiful burn.
111123cohibabehike545
Would I buy this cigar again? Not for the 30+ euro it sells for in The Netherlands

Appearance: 9 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Cohiba (Habanos), Cuban cigars, El Laguito | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Cohiba BHK54

  1. Guy Buscema

    You said ,”Would you buy this cigar again”? Not the price,That mean nothing , Do you like It or not ?

    • it means all Guy. If it’s a decent cigar I might buy it again if the price is right. I’m not gonna pay top money for a decent cigar. I would pay top money for a great cigar, but if a decent cigar is priced at the appropriate level I will buy that again too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

