Tatuaje RC184

A year and a half ago I smoked the Tatuaje RC233. I bought that cigar at the El Rey de los Habanos factory in Miami and was told that the cigars were rolled by Don Pepin Garcia himself, like all RC cigars. The cigars are half wrapped in silver foil, like in the old days. RC stands for Retro Cubano. The 184 comes from the length of the cigar in millimeters and the cigar is shaped like a large perfecto.
120428tatuajerc1841
The cigar looks great, the shape is fantastic just like the packing. The chocolate brown and oily wrapper has a few veins. The predraw is great, which means the construction is great too. I taste some spiciness with some pepper on the tongue.
120428tatuajerc1842
I taste a spicy and peppery wood with some earthy notes and a very mild citrus. The citrus slowly grows in strength with a peppery aftertaste. After an inch I still taste some citrus with some wood and herbs. The flavors are very nice, full but smooth.
120428tatuajerc1843
After a third I taste a lot of wood, full but smooth with some spice and some citrus. After two thirds I get herbs as the main flavor with some pepper, nutmeg and citrus as supporting flavors. The cigar gets spicy, the expected Don Pepin signature.
120428tatuajerc1844
I did exactly two hours with this cigar. The draw is great and I got a lot of thick smoke. The ash is quite dark but firm. The burn is great. This cigar is full flavored and full bodied. I expected a huge flame at the purge, but the cigar burns clean as I only got a small flame.
120428tatuajerc1845
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, I like these almost as much as the RC233

Appearance: 9 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: My Father Cigars, Nicaraguan cigars, Tatuaje | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

