Mayorga Maduro Robusto

I smoked the Mayorga maduro torpedo some time ago, and liked it, so when I got my hands on this Nestor Plasencia made Mayorga maduro torpedo I was already bias, I knew this 4¾x50 box pressed robusto would be a nice smoke.
120505mayorgarobustomaduro2
The cigar has a dark Costa Rican wrapper with a Nicaraguan binder and filler. The wrapper looks leathery and oily, doesn’t have much veins and is topped off with a simple band. I smell a mild barnyard smell. The construction feels good, the predraw is fine.
120505mayorgarobustomaduro3
I taste coffee and earthy flavors, dry and with a little bit of chocolate. After half an inch I taste some herbs and leather, both sweet. The flavors are getting stronger and after a third the leather becomes the main flavor.

Halfway the herbs become stronger and the sweetness becomes the main flavor, the leather and herbs are well balanced. After two thirds the cigar gets less sweet, more herbs and I even taste some wood.
120505mayorgarobustomaduro4
This robusto gave me an hour and fifteen minutes pleasure. The draw and the burn were good. The ash is salt & pepper colored and firm. I got a decent amount of smoke that was reasonably thick. I got a big flame when I purged the cigar. This cigar is full flavored and full bodied.
120505mayorgarobustomaduro5
Would I buy this cigar again? I already did buy another box

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Mayorga, Nicaraguan cigars, Segovia Cigars S.A. | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

