Padron 1964 Principe natural

The Padron 64th anniversary series was released in 1994 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of Padron cigars and they have been scoring very good and consistent in the reviews and ratings of the big magazines. I smoked quite a few Padron 64th anniversary cigars and loved them all, just like the 1926 series. It was time for a review of the natural Principe, a 4½x46 cigar.
120609padron1964habanoprincipe1
The cigar is box pressed with a nice dark wrapper that is wrinkled on the top. I see one thin vein. The construction is great and I smell a mild barnyard smell. The predraw is fine but flavorless.
120609padron1964habanoprincipe2
I taste coffee, mild sweet and smooth, with some nutmeg. After a quarter of an inch I taste herbs and wood. The flavors are complex and smooth. I still taste some of the nutmeg too.
120609padron1964habanoprincipe3
Halfway the structure of the flavors is dry. I taste wood, herbs and a little bit of pepper. After two thirds I taste spices and some spice, the wood and pepper have disappeared.
120609padron1964habanoprincipe4
This smoke time of this cigar is an hour. The draw was a bit easy. I got a lot of extremely thick smoke. The ash is light colored, almost white, and firm. This cigar is medium flavored and medium bodied.
120609padron1964habanoprincipe5
Would I buy this cigar again? I love Padron but this cigar was a bit disappointing, I like the bigger sizes better.

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 9 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cubanica, Nicaraguan cigars, Padron | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

