Cohiba Lancero

Cohiba, probably the best known cigar in the world with a reputation like no other. Who says Cubans can’t do their marketing? So far I liked all Cohibas that I smoked in the past although I just can’t seem to justify their price tag compared to other marcas, that I like just as much or even better while their cigars are cheaper. This cigar, a long panatela aka laguito #1, is 7.6 inch long with a ring of 38 and is topped with a small pigtail.
120616cohibalancero1
The cigar has a good construction and a mild oily, milk chocolate colored wrapper with lots of thin veins. The predraw is fine, I taste tobacco and raisin while I smell a mild barnyard smell.
120616cohibalancero2
I taste some coffee which morphs into smooth leather rather quickly with some earth. The flavors are smooth, not full. The leather and the earth reach a fine balance after an inch and a half.
120616cohibalancero3
After a third I also get some spice and a few puffs later I also taste leather with a hint of nuts. Halfway the spice disappears and the leather gets stronger.
120616cohibalancero4
This cigar lasted me an hour and twenty-five minutes. I got a good amount of thin smoke. The ash is dark and firm. The draw is great, just like the burn. This cigar is medium bodied and medium flavored.
120616cohibalancero5
Would I buy this cigar again? This is a decent cigar but not worth the Cohiba price tag.

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cohiba (Habanos), Cuban cigars, El Laguito | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

