El Credito serie R #3

A friend gave me this Dominican El Credito serie R #3 to review. The cigar is 4½x42 small and has a price tag of € 5,50 here in The Netherlands. The cigar is made by La Gloria Cubana, part of General Cigar owned by Scandinavian Tobacco Group who brought them to the Dutch market. I smoked several non Cuban La Gloria’s and in the past I did enjoy the El Credito serie R #6, but it has been years since I smoked one. I never got around to ask if these El Credito are the same as the La Gloria Cubana serie R, only with a different name and band, as La Gloria Cubana is a registered name by Habanos in Europe when I visited the La Gloria Cubana lounge in Miami.
120707elcreditoserier31
The milk chocolate brown wrapper is wrinkly and has a few thin veins. I smell wood with some hay coming from the cigar. The construction feels good and I taste dry tobacco and something that reminds me of the shell of walnuts. The predraw is great.
120707elcreditoserier32
I taste a bitter coffee flavor with some soil. After half an inch the flavors changed into charcoal and after an inch I taste a mild bitter wood flavor with some straw. On the background I get some bitter chocolate.
120707elcreditoserier33
Halfway I taste hay with straw and a hint of dry wood. The flavors don’t change that much anymore but after two thirds I get a very unpleasant bitter taste.
120707elcreditoserier34
This cigar lasted me for seventy minutes. The draw was great, and I got a lot of thick smoke. The ash is light colored, coarse but firm and the burn is great too. This cigar is full flavored and medium bodied.
120707elcreditoserier35
Would I buy this cigar again? No, I wouldn’t

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 6 / 10
Aroma third part: 6 / 10

Categories: Dominican cigars, El Credito, General Cigar Dominicana S.A.S. | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

