Diamond Crown Maximus #10

Ever since these Diamond Crown Maximus cigars hit the market in 2003, they are a big hit. Made by Fuente for J.C. Newman in the Dominican Republic with a El Bajo sun grown wrapper. I reviewed some Diamond Crowns Maximus before but I never had this 6.7×54 double belicoso before, it is the only Diamond Crown Maximus with a ring gauge other than 50. I bought this in Orlando for 18 dollar
120714diamondcrowndoublebelicoso1
The wrapper is chocolate colored with a few big veins and it looks wrinkled. I smell a strong chocolate and barnyard smell. The construction feels good. The predraw is fine, I taste tobacco with a hint of raisin.
120714diamondcrowndoublebelicoso2
I taste sweet coffee with some soil and cedar. After half an inch the coffee disappears and I taste sweet wood instead. After a third the cigar gets a bit spicy and I also taste some herbs.
120714diamondcrowndoublebelicoso3
Halfway I taste herbs with honey and wood. The flavors are smooth and subtle. Near two thirds the wood flavor gets stronger. Near the end I also taste some pepper.
120714diamondcrowndoublebelicoso4
The smoke time of this cigar is an hour and forty minutes. The draw is great and I got a decent amount of medium thick smoke. The ash is almost white, compact and firm. This cigar is medium bodied and medium flavored and has a nice burn.
120714diamondcrowndoublebelicoso5
Would I buy this cigar again? For 18 dollar I expect more than what I got from this cigar.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Diamond Crown, Dominican cigars, Tabacalera A. Fuente y Cia | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

