Room 101 ~323~

Room101 is made by Camacho, who uses Honduran and Dominican tobacco for the Room 101 blend. The cigars are made for designer Matt Booth, who is the owner of the company. The wrapper is a semila 101, from an exclusive seed especially created for the Room 101 cigars. All the artwork, both on the boxes as on the bands is based upon original Japanese tattoo art. Like Illusione, all Room 101 cigars have a number instead of a name. I smoked the 323, a 6×50 toro thanks to a Belgian friend who traded a few with his American friends.
120728room101toro1
I must admit, the band looks awesome. The wrapper is dark chocolate colored, oily and shiny and I see a few veins. The construction feels good. I smell a peppery chocolate smell. The predraw is loose and I taste tobacco with some pepper.
120728room101toro2
I taste a full and spicy coffee flavor with soil. After half an inch I taste a full spicy earth flavor with some herbs, some sweetness and pepper. The flavors are dry and a little burned. After an inch I taste spicy herbs that burn a little on the back of my throat. I also taste pepper and toast and far on the background some musty chocolate.
120728room101toro3
Halfway I taste herbs, a little burned, with toast and earth. After two thirds I taste smooth wood with mild herbs and a hint of macadamia nuts. The wood becomes stronger with some herbs and spices. The wood is the main flavor now. Near the end I taste nuts with herbs and black pepper.
120728room101toro4
This 6 inch cigar lasted me for almost two hours. The draw was way too loose. The smoke started out poor and thin but grew to be plentiful and thick. The ash is ugly, dark and coarse but firm. This cigar is full flavored and medium to full bodied. I had to correct the burn once.
120728room101toro5
Would I buy this cigar again? I won’t buy a box, but I wouldn’t mind getting a few singles

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 6 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Honduran cigars, Rancho Jamastran, Room 101 | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

