Hoyo de Monterrey piramides

A friend gave me some Cuban piramids, including this 6.1×52 Hoyo de Monterrey piramid, a vitola that is not in regular production. It was released in 2003 for a ‘seleccion piramides’, a box with 5 piramids, the mentioned Hoyo de Monterrey but also Cohiba, Montecristo, Romeo y Julieta and Partagas.
120804hoyodemonterreypyramid1
The wrapper is dark for a Cuban cigar and oily with a few veins. The cigar has a strong barnyard smell. The construction is a bit inconsistant. The predraw is great and I taste tobacco with a spicy aftertaste.
120804hoyodemonterreypyramid2
I taste a peppery spice on the tongue but also mild fresh and some wood, but the wood tastes different than anything I ever tasted before in a cigar. After half an inch I also get some citrus and sweetness.
120804hoyodemonterreypyramid3
A few puffs later the cigar turns peppery again with a sour flavor on the background and that strange wood flavor. After an inch I also get some chocolate. Halfway I mainly taste citrus with a very spicy aftertaste. This flavor is what sticks with me till it is time to rest the nub in the ashtray.
120804hoyodemonterreypyramid4
Even though this is a six inch cigar, it only lasts me for sixty-five minutes. I got a decent amount of medium thick smoke. The draw is good, just like the burn. The ash is silvergray, coarse, frayed and firm. I got a huge flame when I purged. This cigar is full flavored and medium bodied.
120804hoyodemonterreypyramid5
Would I buy this cigar again? No, Hoyo just ain’t my marca.

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 7 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 6 / 10
Aroma second part: 6 / 10
Aroma third part: 5 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Hoyo de Monterrey (Habanos), La Corona | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

