Padilla 1932 robusto

Ernesto Padilla wanted to honor his father with this cigar and chose the name 1932 because that’s the year his father Heberto was born. Even though this cigar is a Nicaraguan puro, blended by Don Pepin Garcia, it is an American cigar because they are made in the El Rey de los Habanos factory in Little Havana, Miami, Florida. The blend consists of Nicaraguan corojo and criollo fillers, a Nicaraguan criollo binder and a Nicaraguan corojo wrapper. I heard a lot of good stuff about this cigar so when I ran into them in Orlando I bought a few 5×50 robustos.
120908padilla1932robusto1
I like the band, it is stylish. The medium brown wrapper is oily and has a few long thin veins. I smell a mild tar and barnyard smell. The construction feels good. I notice that the wrapper is quite thin when I punch it. The predraw is great, I taste tobacco and cinnamon.
120908padilla1932robusto2
I taste a pleasant coffee flavor with some cedar. The flavors are very nice and smooth with a little hint of cinnamon on the background. After half an inch I taste some toast with the other flavors. The flavors remain to be smooth but also full and subtle.
120908padilla1932robusto3
The flavors don’t develop a lot, but I like what I taste so I don’t mind. After an inch the coffee disappears, I taste some cedar, some wood, a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon. After two thirds I taste some more cinnamon, the cigar gets more spicy and mildly bitter.
120908padilla1932robusto4
The smoke time of this cigar is an hour and a half. The draw is great, and I got thick smoke. The ash is quite dark, frayed and coarse but firm and I had to correct the burn a few times. This cigar is medium to full flavored and medium bodied.
120908padilla1932robusto5
Would I buy this cigar again? I like the 1968 better

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 8 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Nicaraguan cigars, Padilla | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

