Chess extreme torpedo

At intertabac in Germany I got a few samples from Hawk, the Norwegian owner of the Dominican cigar company Chess. One of those samplers was the 4×64 Chess Extreme torpedo I. The cigar is blended with years old Nicaraguan ligero and corojo tobaccos, a Dominican binder and a corojo wrapper that had been aged 5 years before being used on this fat and short, Nub like, torpedo.
121013chessextremetorpedo1
The cigar has a light brown oil wrapper and the fat torpedo feels well constructed. I see one long vein running over the wrapper. I smell a strong wood smell coming from the cigar. The predraw is fine and I taste wood with tobacco.
121013chessextremetorpedo2
I taste a sweet and musty earthy flavor with a hint of chocolate. I also get a bit of metalic flavor that you get from corojo tobacco every now and then. After half an inch I taste lots of sugar with some musty wood.
121013chessextremetorpedo3
After a third I taste wood with herbs and still some sweetness. The cigar is spicy, with some pepper on the background. After two thirds the cigar is spicy but musty with lots of red pepper.
121013chessextremetorpedo4
This cigar lasted me for fifty minutes. The draw is great and I got a decent amount of smoke from the cigar. The ash is light gray and firm. The burn was a bit crooked though. This cigar is full flavored and medium to full bodied.
121013chessextremetorpedo5
Would I buy this cigar again? I don’t think so, the blend didn’t meet my preferences and I am not a 60+ RG aficionado

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 7 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 6 / 10

Categories: Chess, Chess Cigar Factory, Dominican cigars | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

