Rafael Gonzalez extra panatela

I send someone on my Dutch board some cigars and he fired back with a few Cubans, amongst them this 5×36 Rafael Gonzalez extra panatela. The Rafael Gonzalez is a short filler. Rafael Gonzalez is a small brand, even though the history goes back to 1928. The extra panatela is a hand made cigar, but up till 2002 they were a machine made smoke.
121201rafaelgonzalespanatelaextra1
The wrapper is wrinkly, chocolate brown with quite some veins. I smell a mild barnyard smell with some tar. The construction feels good. The predraw is fine and I taste spicy tobacco.
121201rafaelgonzalespanatelaextra2
I taste coffee and leather with some sweetness, but the flavors are spicy too. After a quarter of an inch I taste sweet wood and leather. After three quarters of an inch I taste leather with a mild sweetness. The sweetness slowly changes to chocolate with herbs and leather.
121201rafaelgonzalespanatelaextra3
After two thirds I taste herbs with a little bit of leather. The chocolate has disappeared. The flavors are getting stronger and leather is becoming the main flavor.
121201rafaelgonzalespanatelaextra4
This cigar lasted me for seventy minutes. The draw is great, the smoke is good. The light colored ash is not firm at all. I had no problems with the burn. This cigar is medium to full flavored and medium bodied.
121201rafaelgonzalespanatelaextra5
Would I buy this cigar again? I might, depends on the price.

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 7 / 10

Categories: Cuban cigars, Rafael Gonzalez (Habanos) | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

