Diamond Crown Maximus #4

Diamond Crown maximus is a brand made by Fuente for JC Newman. The filler is the same as the Opus X, I don’t know if the binder is the same but the wrapper is an Ecuadorian wrapper instead of a Dominican wrapper like the Opus X. The #4 that a friend gave me is a 6×50 toro.
080417diamondcrownmaximus41
The band is detailed. The sun grown wrapper is quite dark with a lot of small and a few thick veins. I smell cacao powder with some wood. The construction feels good. The predraw is a bit tight and I taste raisin with a syrup like sweetness.
080417diamondcrownmaximus42-1
I taste coffee, mild bitter and mild sweet. After half an inch I taste a soft wood flavor with quite some sweetness. After an inch I taste caramel with a bit of herbs and a tiny bit of chocolate. After a third I taste caramel with herbs. The chocolate has disappeared.
080417diamondcrownmaximus43-1Halfway I taste quite some chocolate again and after two thirds I taste dry wood with herbs and a little bit of caramel and chocolate. The wood gets stronger with a mild caramel sweetness and lots of herb. There is a bit of pepper in the aftertaste. Near the end I taste some cinnamon too.
080417diamondcrownmaximus44-1
The smoke time of this six inch cigar is an hour and thirty five minutes. I got a medium smoke. The draw was great, the burn was good. The light gray ash looks pretty and is firm. This cigar is medium flavored and medium bodied.
080417diamondcrownmaximus45-1
Would I buy this cigar again? I preferred the robusto

Appearance: 8 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 7 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 7 / 10
Aroma second part: 7 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Diamond Crown, Dominican cigars, Tabacalera A. Fuente y Cia | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

