Balmoral Anejo 18

During the organization of the Dutch Big smoke somebody suggested that we should take a look at the Balmoral Anejo as one of the 10 cigars that came with the ticket. Now my first reaction was ‘no way, there is no place for a gas station cigar on my watch’ but after reading a review and talking to a friend who had smoked a pre-release cigar I changed my mind and me & the other people behind the Dutch Big Smoke decided to try one and we were sold. The Balmoral Anejo 18 was a ‘must have’ for the 2012 Big Smoke.
130209balmoralanejo1_zpsfaa979b8
The Balmoral Anejo 18 Rothschild is a longfiller with some 18 year old tobacco, a dark and veiny wrapper, beautiful bands, a firm construction and a strong barnyard smell. The predraw is great and I taste pepper and some earthy flavor.
130209balmoralanejo2_zps7f88b59d
The flavors are sharp without becoming harsh, I taste pepper and coffee. The red pepper I can feel all the way down my throat. After half an inch I taste some toast with pepper and a little bit of chocolate. The toasted flavors are getting stronger. After a third I taste toast with nuts and pepper. The cigar is full flavored with some chocolate on the background.
130209balmoralanejo3_zps5d97cab2
Halfway I still taste the toast with some spices and pepper, although the pepper has lost some of its strength. After two thirds the pepper gains some strength again on a bed of toast and a hint of chocolate. The pepper really pops at the end, it makes my lips tingle
130209balmoralanejo4_zps6dfefd52
This cigar lasted me for an hour and twenty minutes. The pepper and salt colored ash is firm. The smoke is white and reasonably thick. The burn is beautiful. The cigar is full flavored and medium to full bodied.
130209balmoralanejo5_zps03853722
Would I buy this cigar again? I already did

Appearance: 7 / 10
Construction: 8 / 10
Draw: 8 / 10
Burn: 8 / 10
Smoke & ash: 7 / 10
Aroma first part: 8 / 10
Aroma second part: 8 / 10
Aroma third part: 8 / 10

Categories: Agio Caribbean Tobacco Company, Balmoral, Dominican cigars | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Balmoral Anejo 18

  1. john

    I like Balmoral Anejo cigars. i like cigar’s strong test. and also like cigar’s chocolate test of background…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

