Don Tomas Nicaragua Toro

This cigar was recently released on the Dutch market for a very reasonable price of €5,40. Now I don’t know much about the brand to be honest, just that this is one of the many brands that added a Nicaragua line just like Davidoff, cohiba, vega fina and more. And I don’t blame them, Nicaragua is the best cigar country in the world in my humble opinion. I’m also not sure if this cigar is made in Nicaragua or Honduras.
090615dontomasnicaraguatoro1
The cigar looks smooth, a nice light brown shiny wrapper without any real veins and a simple blue band. Somehow the cigar doesn’t appeal to me but I can’t exactly tell why. The cigar has a mild hay and charcoal aroma. The construction feels good. The predraw is fine, I taste a little bit of wood and raisin.
090615dontomasnicaraguatoro2
I taste coffee, not strong and a little musty. This ain’t a Connecticut shade cigar by the looks of it but still has that Connecticut shade mustiness which I don’t like. The flavors soon change to wood, a tiny bit of pepper but all with that mustiness. And then……nothing happens anymore.
090615dontomasnicaraguatoro3
Halfway a little harsh pepper shows up, but it’s all more of the same. Same applies for when a little sweetness appears after two thirds.
090615dontomasnicaraguatoro4
The draw is great, no problems there. The ash is light colored and firm. The burn is good. The smoke is thin and not plentiful as I like. The cigar is mild to medium bodied and mild to medium flavored. It lasted me an hour and forty minutes.
090615dontomasnicaraguatoro5

Would I buy this cigar again? No, it’s not for me. But quality wise it’s a good cigar for a very good price so I won’t be surprised if this turns out to be a good selling cigar.


Appearance: 7

Construction: 8
Draw: 8
Burn: 8
Smoke & ash: 7
Aroma first part: 6
Aroma second part: 6
Aroma third part:  6
Categories: Don Tomas, Honduran cigars, Honduras American Tobacco SA | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

