Roma Craft La Campaña de Panamá Sombrero

In February of 2014 I was partying at club Cigar Zone in Esteli, Nicaragua when our mutual friend Pedro Gomez introduced me to Skip Martin from Roma Craft. Skip handed me this awesome looking cigar. I smoked it right there and then on that Flor de Caña filled night and never thought I could smoke that cigar again until ran into Charlie Minato at Intertabac in September 2014 when he gave me this cigar. Smoking it for a review now.
091315romacraftpanama1
The wrapper is beautiful, oily and dark with hardly any veins. The cone shape is awesome and the 4 Connecticut shade rings finishes the cigars. The cigar has a nice horse stable aroma and the construction feels flawless. The unfinished foot is an added bonus. The predraw is very smooth and I taste well fermented tobacco, a little spicy.
091315romacraftpanama2

Espresso with a hint of pepper is what I taste right after lighting the cigar and soon after a strong earthy taste. When I reach the final ring I taste a hint of the classic Connecticut shade flavor, but just a hint, over the earthy taste with nutmeg.
091315romacraftpanama3
After the last ring it’s an earthy flavor again with some herbs and a little bit of green pepper. Halfway the cigar gets stronger and I taste more pepper, but it’s not overpowering. After that the cigar turns all spices, nutmeg, cinnamon with dry wood, very very nice.
091315romacraftpanama4
The draw is a bit loose, the ash is a beautiful silver gray top layer and black underneath, or it just looks that way. The ash isn’t too dense but it’s firm. The smoke is thick and plentiful. The burn is razor sharp. This cigar is full flavor, medium bodied. The smoke time of this stick is two hours and 15 minutes.
091315romacraftpanama5
Would I buy this cigar again? I wish! Another fine example on why I love Nicaraguan cigars so much.

Appearance: 10
Construction: 9
Draw: 7
Burn: 9
Smoke & ash: 8
Aroma first part: 8
Aroma second part: 9 
Aroma third part: 9

Categories: Nica Sueno, Nicaraguan cigars, RomaCraft | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Roma Craft La Campaña de Panamá Sombrero

  1. tommi

    Welcome back my friend long tome no see
    I like your reviews a lot,big fan
    I hope you will still make cigar reviews

  2. Pingback: RomaCraft Wunder|Lust Robusto | cigar reviews

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

