Rocky Patel Freedom Robusto

Rocky Patel spends most of his time in Washington nowadays to fight the legislation towards cigars, that’s getting worse and worse. To represent what he’s fighting for he created a line of cigars called Freedom.
092715rpfreedom1
The medium brown wrapper looks nice with a very American inspired band, stars, red & white stripes, the whole color scheme, it screams USA. The thin veins are flattened which helps the appearance. The construction feels good, and the cigar has a strong barnyard aroma. The predraw is fine and leaves hints of pepper and freshness.
092715rpfreedom2
A nice mellow coffee flavor is what I taste when I light the cigar with my classic ronson varaflame from the late sixties. I also taste nutmeg, medium bodied. The coffee disappears, it’s now wood with nutmeg. After a third the cigar gets a bit spicy, not peppery though, don’t know how to describe this.
092715rpfreedom3
Halfway I taste wood, a little bit of nutmeg and some freshness in the aftertaste. There is a little bit of pepper on my lips. Slowly a mild citrus flavor develops on the back of my throat but that could also be the result of my drink. At the end I get a burst of pepper.
092715rpfreedom4
I get a good amount of thick white smoke. The ash is silver gray and frayed. The burn needs a few touch ups. Ash is pretty firm, cigar is medium bodied and medium to full flavored. The cigar lasted me for 75 minutes.
092715rpfreedom5
Would I buy this again? Yes, but not as often as the super Ligero.
Appearance: 8
Construction: 8
Draw: 8
Burn: 7
Smoke & ash: 8
Aroma first part: 8
Aroma second part: 7
Aroma third part: 7

Btw if you’re wondering why I’m holding the cigars so weird, I cut my thumb and its wrapped in white bandages.

Categories: Honduran cigars, Rocky Patel | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

