Padron Damaso Robusto

It’s been ages ago that Padron released a new regular production cigar but a few months ago they did, and much to everybody’s surprise it came with a Connecticut shade wrapper. Now I hate Connecticut shade with a passion, never smoked one I really liked, but it’s Padron so I wanted to try it anyway. Cesar Gadea from Padron provided me with a sampler.
121915padrondamaso1
The triple cap isn’t the sharpest I’ve ever seen, actually the whole wrapper is a bit rough but I love the white Padron band. The yellowish brown color isn’t that appealing either. The construction feels good and the cigar has a sour barnyard smell to it. The draw is incredibly easy with hardly no flavor.
121915padrondamaso2
I taste wood with some sweetness and some spice, more flavor than you’d expect from a Connecticut shade cigar. I also taste that classic Connecticut shade mustiness which I don’t like. I also taste some sweetness. The flavors weaken though.
121915padrondamaso3
After a third it’s wood, some sweetness and the mustiness and slowly the mustiness slowly gets stronger. After two thirds a little bit of pepper shows up. The cigar also gets harsh.
121915padrondamaso4
The draw is like sucking air thou a big hose, that’s easy the draw is. The ash is quite dark, flaky but firm. The smoke is good, just thick enough, just plentiful enough. The burn is good too. It’s a mild cigar with mild to medium flavor. Due to the easy draw it lasted me for just an hour.
121915padrondamaso5
Would I buy this cigar again? No, another Connecticut shade I don’t like.

Appearance: 7
Construction: 7
Draw: 6
Burn: 8
Smoke & ash: 8
Aroma first part: 7
Aroma second part: 6
Aroma third part: 5

Categories: Cubanica, Nicaraguan cigars, Padron | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

