Enclave Robusto

At the intertabac trade show, Kris from A.J. Fernandez cigars gave me an enclave robusto and an enclave figurado. I smoked the figurado right there and then and liked it a lot. I decided to save the robusto for a review.
073116enclave5
What makes this cigar pop is the closed foot and the beautiful artwork, the beautifully rounded head and the nice color of the wrapper. The cigar has a manure smell to it. The construction feels good, no soft spots. The peppery predraw is great.
073116enclave4
I love closed foots, I slowly light them with my trustworthy Classic ronson and love to watch how that tobacco reacts to the heat. Pepper, lots of pepper, that’s what I get from the start. After a few puffs the pepper tones down and I taste a bit of metallic flavor with wood, some sweetness and a nice amount of pepper. The metallic woody peppery flavor sticks around with some green herbs
073116enclave3
After a third I taste more wood, the metallic flavor is gone. There’s still a nice amount of pepper. The pepper is growing stronger, and after two third I also taste some salmiac. The salmiac is gone just as sudden as it shows up. It’s pepper with wood and a little bit of salt.
073116enclave2
The draw is great. The light and dark ash isn’t pretty but the smoke is good, just thick enough and I get enough smoke too. The burn is good, a little bit crooked but not enough to complain. This cigar lasted me for 100 minutes.
073116enclave1
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes, it’s a very nice cigar.

Appearance: 8
Construction: 8
Draw: 9
Burn: 8
Smoke & ash: 7
Aroma first part: 8
Aroma second part: 8
Aroma third part: 8

Categories: Enclave, Nicaraguan cigars, Tabacalera A.J. Fernandez | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

