Ortega Wild Bunch Island Jim

The second review in a series of Ortega Wild Bunch reviews, but as I said in the previous review, I don’t have all of them so it won’t be a full series of reviews. Island Jim is number 3 out of 12, I’m not smoking them in any particular order. I bought this cigar at one of the Smoke Inn shops in South Florida. This cigar, 6 ½ inch 52 ring, is made by My Father cigars with a rosado wrapper from Ecuador and Nicaraguan fillers and binder.
081416wildbunchjim1
The wrapper is silky, beautifully colored with a dark chocolate color with a mild reddish glow. I see a few veins. The aroma is quite strong and has a smell that reminds me of horses. The construction feels good and the predraw proves it. The taste is quite peppery.
081416wildbunchjim2
Right from the start it’s wood with pepper, and the kind of pepper where Don Pepin Garcia got his fame from, bold and strong. The pepper mellows out, the wood is the dominant flavor but the aftertaste is still peppery. After a centimeter I taste a very mild metallic flavor which grows in strength. It disappears after another centimeter, than its just mild wood and a mild pepper in the aftertaste.
081416wildbunchjim3
Halfway the cigar gets a little bit boring, which is uncommon for a My Father made cigar. It’s the same mild wood with mild pepper although the pepper slowly gains some strength but just a little bit. Near the end the pepper grows back to the original strength.
081416wildbunchjim4
The draw is wonderful and I get a nice amount of medium thick white smoke. The ash is white and firm, but the burn is slightly off. The cigar is medium full bodied and medium flavored. Halfway the burn corrects itself. The cigar lasted me two hours.
081416wildbunchjim5
Would I buy this cigar again? That’s not possible, but if I could, I still wouldn’t. It’s a nice smoke but there is better.

Appearance: 8
Construction: 8
Draw: 9
Burn: 7
Smoke & ash: 7
Aroma first part: 7
Aroma second part: 6
Aroma third part: 7

Categories: Nicaraguan cigars, Ortega | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

