Tatuaje Pudgy Mummy

After the success of the little monster serie sampler Pete Johnson decided to release another sampler with the six first Tatuaje Monster releases in a shorter size but with the original ring gauge, the Tatuaje Pudgy Monsters with an added new release Chucky and Tiff. I will be reviewing the complete sampler in the next few weeks.
101616tatuajepudgy
Cigar #5 from the Pudgy Monster sampler is the pudgy mummy, a 5 ¾x47 Nicaraguan puro with a sun grown criollo wrapper. The band is simple like all Tatuaje cigars, grey with white letters this time. The wrapper is nice deep colored with a nice shine and a few thin veins. The construction feels good. The cold draw is tight and peppery. I actually used my cool, custom made, draw tool and noticed a plug approximately at the ring.
111316tatuajepudgymummy1
The first puffs are spicy, peppery and a little harsh. But not harsh in a bad way. The harshness and pepper disappear and I taste spices, wood and just a bit of white pepper. It’s nice and balanced.
111316tatuajepudgymummy2
After a third the pepper picks up a little without overdoing it. The woody aftertaste is very nice and there is a hint of dark chocolate.
111316tatuajepudgymummy3
Halfway it’s wood and spices, mellow and well balanced. The power slowly builds up but it never gets full bodied. At the end I taste nuts.
111316tatuajepudgymummy3
The draw is great after I used the draw tool and the smoke is thick, white and copious. The ash is silver gray but it’s fragile and breaks easily but then it’s firm. The burn is sharp and slow, that’s how I like it. The cigar is flavorful and medium plus bodied. I enjoyed this cigar two hours.
111316tatuajepudgymummy5
Would I buy this cigar again? Yes I would. I even used my nub tool for the first time in a long while.

Appearance: 9
Construction: 7
Draw: 8 (6 before 9 after draw tool use)
Burn: 9
Smoke & Ash: 8
Aroma first part: 7
Aroma second part: 9
Aroma third part: 9

Categories: My Father Cigars, Nicaraguan cigars, Tatuaje | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

