Studio Tobac ST-EF401

This is an old review that somehow never got posted when it should have been uploaded.

Studio Tobac, the think tank of Oliva, used to do a world tour with events and if you bought a box there you would get a sampler with some unreleased cigars. Now world tour is a big name because only one of those years a country outside of the United States was visited but because I worked for the Oliva distributer who also ran the Oliva warehouse for every country outside the USA, I managed to get my hands on the samplers anyway.
stsampler01
I picked this 5×50 ST-EF401 test blend from the sampler. The light colored, probably Connecticut shade, wrapper has a few veins. The construction feels good and I smell an aroma that reminds me of horses. The ring is just a photocopied piece of paper with the code ST-EF401 on it. The cold draw is fine and I taste dry raisin.
stsampler2
The cigar is acidic and musty, now I know for sure that the wrapper is Connecticut shade. The flavors are harsh, peppery and with some spiced. After an inch I taste some licorice, hay and wood and the flavors are still musty. Halfway I taste (still musty) wood with some herbs. After two thirds the cigar gets very ashy.
stsampler3
This cigar had a smoke time of an hour and fifteen minutes. The draw is great but the smoke is thin. The light colored ash is compact and firm. The burn is good but the smoke, which is good in volume, has a very nasty smell.
stsampler4
Would I buy this cigar again? That’s impossible because this test blend never made it to the market and in my opinion that’s a good thing
stsampler5
Appearance: 7
Construction: 7
Draw: 8
Burn: 7
Smoke & ash: 7
Aroma first part: 5
Aroma second part: 6
Aroma third part: 5

Categories: Nicaraguan cigars, Oliva, Tabacalera Oliva | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

