Arturo Fuente Opus X Double Corona

This is an old review that somehow never got posted when it should have been uploaded.

I have no idea how I got this cigar, all I know it has some age on it and it has been bought at a Belgian shop as the cigar has a Belgian tax band. The cellophane has a golden Opus X print on it.
opusxdoublecorona1_zpsaa3e40f8
The reddish brown wrapper is beautiful with 2 veins. The construction feels good and the wrapper feels silky. The aroma is mild. The cold draw is great and gives a spicy flavor. As for the ring, drop dead gorgeous.
opusxdoublecorona2_zps334e4f1f
I taste a spicy cigar, herbs and pepper, coffee and citrus. A lot of complexity and spicier than I remembered from my previous Opus X experiences. After a centimeter I taste citrus, herbs and honey that slowly change into herbs with a citrus aftertaste. After a third I taste honey again with citrus, herbs and a little cedar and right before I reach the middle of the cigar I taste some pepper too. The flavors are well balanced and complex.
opusxdoublecorona3_zpsedeee0cd
After two thirds I taste cedar with some citrus and later on the herbs again with a hint of pepper. Near the end the pepper gets very strong.
opusxdoublecorona4_zpsf149e3b2
The smoke time was a whopping two hours and forty five minutes. The draw was amazing and I got a lot of thick smoke from the cigar. The ash is light colored, dense but not too firm. The burn is almost perfect. This is a full flavored full bodied and complex cigar.
opusxdoublecorona5_zps72b298b0
Would I buy this cigar again? Every once in a while, great cigar but that price tag, dayum

Appearance: 9
Construction: 9
Draw: 9
Burn: 9
Smoke & ash: 8
Aroma first part: 8
Aroma second part: 8
Aroma third part: 9

Categories: Arturo Fuente, Dominican cigars, Tabacalera A. Fuente y Cia | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

