Romeo y Julieta No.2 Tubo

I started to smoke in december 2005 on a vacation to Asia. One of my closest friends is married to an Indonesian woman, they were going to Indonesia and Philip asked me to come along so he didn’t have to spend 4 weeks at his inlaws. So on december 14th we jumped on a plane to Singapore, spend 3 days in that beautiful city (where 11 years later I would get married to my Singaporean wife, but thats a whole other story) and before we got on the plane to Jakarta we bought a bottle of good whisky and a handful of premium Cigars. Cohiba, Montecristo and Romeo y Julieta. In Indonesia we would smoke a cigar every night with a glass of that whisky and I loved it so I decided to keep smoking cigars once I got back to The Netherlands. On the flight back I maxed out my creditcard at the cigar shop at Changi Airport on singles to have a wide variety and back in The Netherlands I started to sample. The cigar that really sparked my interest in the world of premium cigars was the Guantanamera Cristales, that might sound weird but I’ll explain. That cigar was so horrible that I realized that there is a lot off difference between cigars, that a cigar is not just a bunch of rolled up tobacco and I wanted to learn more.

 


I joined a Dutch board which I later owned and turned into the #1 source for premium cigars, news, reviews in Dutch until I had to give it away due to Dutch laws since I started to work in the industry and it would be considered advertising.  But that’s a side step, when I was new on that board someone joined and he bought a bankrupt cigar shop but he bought it so he could sell the cigarettes in his supermarket and he needed to unload the cigars cheap. I got a few boxes from that sale like a box of Partagas deluxe tubes and a few boxes of Romeo y Julieta No.2 tubos with a box date of december 2006 and I will be smoking one of those cigars now for a review.

 


The cigars are probably one of the first batches with the ‘new’ designed tubes, instead of the aluminum colored tubes that Habanos used before these tubes are white with a red cap, the Romeo y Julieta band printed on the tube as well as the name and the type ‘romeo no.2’. I twist off the cap and I find a medium brown, think milk chocolate, wrapper with a thin yet high veins but also here and there a sparkle of the minerals that the wrapper contains. The construction feels great and the cap is nicely finished. The ring is small and red with a white outline, golden decorations and white lettering saying romeo y julieta habana and in the centre rodriguez aguelles y Co. The cigar has a nice, quite strong, deep and dark soil and manure aroma.

 


I cut the cigar and find a little tight draw with a fresh but peppery hay flavor. I used a soft flame to light the cigar and straight on i taste coffee with a little freshness. After a few puffs the flavors change to a more leather flavor with a hint of chocolate. After a third it’s a mix of leather, wood and something metallic. In the aftertaste I taste a faint chocolate. After two thirds I taste leather, some nuttiness and pepper, and the pepper slowly gets stronger.

 


The smoke is medium thick and medium in volume but beautifully white. The draw is just a little tight and I really mean a little. The ash is gray with dark smears but firm. The burn is great. The cigar is medium bodied, medium full flavored but lacks evolution. The smoke time is an hour and fifteen minutes.

Would I buy this cigar again? I still have over half a box left, so for now I won’t but its a decent cigar after 10 years of aging but the lack of evolution and the less than perfect draw play a big part in the score.

Score: 87

87

Categories: 87, Cuban cigars, Romeo y Julieta (Habanos), Romeo y Julieta Factory | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

