I love this industry

I mentioned it a few times, I used to work in the cigar industry as a sales rep, in The Netherlands and that’s not one of the biggest markets out there. And because of my work I met a lot of cigar manufacturers, either in Europe or at their factories in Nicaragua.

What strikes me, amazes me actually, is the way the manufacturers treat me and that amazed me again last weekend at Intertabac. I mean, I was just a sales rep in a small country yet when I walked onto the trade show floor A.J. Fernandez spotted me and started waving at me trying to get my attention instead of the other way around, José Oliva whom I hadn’t seen in years walks up to me, at the Cigar Journal award show Alejandro Turrent walks over to me to say hi instead of the other way around, Frederik Vandemeliere (J. Cortes) takes a selfie with me on his phone and a few years ago Nick Perdomo tapped me on my shoulder to introduce his wife Janine to me. Those are just a few of the times where I thought “this should be the other way around”.

I love this industry, I love the warmth, the people, I made real friends in the years that I was lucky enough to be part of this industry.

Here are a few pictures I took at Intertabac, I missed a lot of photo opportunities because I usually don’t like them, but hey, once in a blue moon right?

 

And a big thank you for Sam Morales & Jessi Flores for hooking me up with two unique pieces of art for my man cave

Categories: Misc | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

